Home Forums Main Forum General Looking for adult SM participants

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of marcjohng marcjohng 4 years, 6 months ago.

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home4/scardew/public_html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate-category-excluder/ultimate-category-excluder.php on line 155
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of morphologism
    morphologism

Hi, I am a student studying Psychology at the University of Huddersfield conducting research into Selective Mutism for my final year dissertation. The research Aims to investigate adult experiences of selective mutism, how this affects such things as social relationships, higher education/work, thoughts and feelings about living with selective mutism, and any other issues you feel are important.

I have SM myself, and a large part of my experience has revolved around misunderstandings, from mental health professionals, family and friends. Which isn’t too surprising, considering how hard it can be to tell anyone anything when you have SM. Within the SM literature, in studies published in journals, one thing that’s been missing over and over again is an understanding of SM from the people who actually have it, and especially adults, who have been virtually ignored. Just explaining how SM has affected your life as an adult would be hugely insightful and important for future SM research.